Be A PROBikesCycling Pro

Peter Sagan takes first win of the year on stage six of the Volta a Catalunya 2021

Peter Sagan has taken his first victory of the 2021 season, outsprinting his rivals to win stage six of the Volta a Catalunya.

The Slovakian proved strongest on the drag up towards the line in Mataró, beating Daryl Impey (Israel Start-Up Nation) into second place as Juan Sebastián Molano (UAE Team Emirates) took third.

Juan José Lobato (Euskaltel-Euskadi) had hit out early inside the final 500m but faded in the finishing straight after Deceuninck – Quick-Step had attempted to send multiple riders up the road inside the last 20km on solo missions to deny a bunch sprint but couldn’t make it stick.

Ineos’ Adam Yates retains the overall lead with one stage remaining, with team-mates Richie Porte and Geraint Thomas filling out the other two podium places 45 seconds in arrears.

More to follow…


Volta a Catalunya 2021, stage six: Tarragona to Mataró (193.8km)

1. Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe, in 4-23-18
2. Daryl Impey (RSA) Israel Start-Up Nation, at same time
3. Juan Sebastián Molano (Col) UAE Team Emirates
4. Reinardt Janse van Rensburg (RSA) Qhubeka-ASSOS
5. Alexander Kamp (Den) Trek-Segafredo
6. Clément Venturini (Fra) Ag2r Citroën
7. Max Kanter (Ger) DSM
8. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
9. Michael Valgren (Den) EF Education – Nippo
10. Maxim Van Gils (Bel) Lotto-Soudal, all at same time

General classification after stage six

1. Adam Yates (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, in 23-08-45
2. Richie Porte (Aus) Ineos Grenadiers, at 45 seconds
3. Geraint Thomas (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers, at 49s
4. Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar Team, at 1-03
5. Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Bora-Hansgrohe, at the same time
6. Esteban Chaves (Col) Team BikeExchange, at 1-04
7. João Almeida (Por) Deceuninck – Quick-Step, at 1-07
8. Hugh Carthy (GBr) EF Education-Nippo, at 1-20
9. Sepp Kuss (USA) Team Jumbo-Visma, at 1-29
10. Simon Yates (GBr) Team BikeExchange, at 1-32

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *