Be A PROBikesCycling Pro

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2021: all you need to know

The 2021 cobbled classics kick off on Saturday, February 27, with Omloop Het Nieuwsblad in Belgium.

The organisers – Flanders Classics – promote a men’s and women’s race on the same day, the routes typically being 200 kilometres and 120km respectively.

The route is expected to feature similar climbs to the 2020 edition such as the legendary Muur van Geraardsbergen. With Belgian spring classic Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne taking place the very next day, this race very much marks the beginning of the 2021 season.

The 2021 edition expects to see a number of star names attempt to get their Classics campaigns off to a winning start, with Philippe Gilbert (Lotto-Soudal), Greg Van Avermaet (Ag2r-Citroën), Zdeněk Štybar (Deceuninck – Quick-Step) among others, all likely to take the start line.

>> The Muur van Geraadsbergen: cycling’s iconic places

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2021 route

The route is yet to be launched but we will have all the information here when its available.

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2021 provisional start list


Omloop Het Nieuwsblad 2021 TV guide

Eurosport and GCN Race Pass

Social Media

Twitter (text updates)
Omloop Het Nieuwsblad – @OmloopHNB

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad previous winners

2005: Nick Nuyens (BEL) Quick-Step–Innergetic
2006: Philippe Gilbert (BEL) Française des Jeux
2007: Filippo Pozzato (ITA) Liquigas
2008: Philippe Gilbert (BEL) Française des Jeux
2009: Thor Hushovd (NOR) Cervélo TestTeam
2010: Juan Antonio Flecha (ESP) Team Sky
2011: Sebastian Langeveld (NED) Rabobank
2012: Sep Vanmarcke (BEL) Garmin–Barracuda
2013: Luca Paolini (ITA) Team Katusha
2014: Ian Stannard (GBR) Team Sky
2015: Ian Stannard (GBR) Team Sky
2016: Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing Team
2017: Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) BMC Racing Team
2018: Michael Valgren (Den) Astana
2019: Zdeněk Štybar (Czh) Deceuninck–Quick-Step
2020: Jasper Stuyvan (Bel) Trek-Segafredo

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad women’s previous winners

2006: Suzanne de Goede AA Drink Cycling
2007: Mie Bekker Lacota Flexipoint
2008: Kirsten Wild AA Drink Cycling
2009: Suzanne de Goede Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
2010: Emma Johansson Red Sun Cycling Team
2011: Emma Johansson HiTec Products-UCK
2012: Loes Gunnewijk GreenEDGE-AIS
2013: Tiffany Cromwell Orica-AIS
2014: Amy Pieters Skil Koga
2015: Anna van der Breggen Rabo-Liv
2016: Lizzie Armitstead Boels-Dolmans
2017: Lucinda Brand Team Sunweb
2018: Christina Malling Siggaard (Den) Team Virtu Cycling
2019: Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans
2020: Annemiek van Vleuten (Ned) Mitchelton-Scott

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *