Be A PROBikesCycling Pro

Mads Pedersen takes victory in hard-fought Ghent-Wevelgem 2020

Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo) took victory in a hard-fought edition of Ghent-Wevelgem, beating Florian Sénéchal (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), Matteo Trentin (CCC Team), and Alberto Bettiol (EF Pro Cycling) in a four-man sprint for the line.

Bettiol, Sénéchal, and Trentin escaped from a nine-man break group that also included Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma), Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix), John Degenkolb (Lotto-Soudal), Yves Lampaert (Deceuninck-Quick-Step), and Stefan Küng (Groupama-FDJ), with 1.7km to go, with Pedersen then bridging the gap between the two-groups under the flamme rouge.

The leading four then launched their sprint simultaneously, with former world champion Pedersen by far the strongest as Sénéchal trailed in his wake and Bettiol and Trentin fell away. Pedersen was able to glide across the line arms aloft to take a clear victory in Wevelgem.

More to follow…


Ghent-Wevelgem 2020: Ghent to Wevelgem (232.5km)

1. Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
2. Florian Sénéchal (Fra) Deceuninck-Quick-Step
3. Matteo Trentin (Ita) CCC Team
4. Alberto Bettiol (Ita) EF Pro Cycling
5. Stefan Küng (Sui Groupama-FDJ
6. John Degenkolb (Ger) Lotto-Soudal
7. Yves Lampaert (Bel) Deceuninck-Quick-Step
8. Wout van Aert (Bel) Jumbo-Visma
9. Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) Alpecin-Fenix
10. Dylan Teuns (Bel) Bahrain-McLaren

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *