Be A PROBikesCycling Pro

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2021: everything you need to know

Where: Australia
When: N/A in 2021
Rank: UCI WorldTour (Men and Women)

The 2021 WorldTour continues but the Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race in Australia will not be part of it as it and the Santos Tour Down Under were both called off due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

The men’s race was given WorldTour status for 2017, and this honour has been continued ever since – with a host of top WorldTour teams riding each year.

There’s also a women’s race, usually held a day before, which is part of the UCI Women’s WorldTour.

In 2020, the men’s win went to Dries Devenyns (Deceuninck-Quick-Step) who took victory in a two-up sprint ahead Russian youngster Pavel Sivakov (Ineos Grenadiers).

The women’s race went to Liane Lippert (Team Sunweb) who held off a chasing group of three including 2019 winner Arlenis Sierra (Astana).

Liane Lippert wins women’s Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race (Photo by Tim de Waele/Getty Images)

The men’s race covered 171 kilometres in 2020, starting and finishing at the Geelong Waterfront on Sunday February 2. The women’s race covers 121km – with the same start and finish location.

The race passes through Barwon Heads – the home town of 2011 Tour de France winner Cadel Evans – and includes flat but windy, exposed roads, undulating climbs and technical sections, as well as the testing slopes of the Challambra climb.

2018 was the first that the women’s race crested the Challambra climb, and the men’s course saw riders ascend the climb four times. The finish at the Waterfront is fast – but the sprinters have to make it to the line with the peloton.

Designed by former pro rider Scott Sunderland, in consultation with Evans, the courses aim to create an attacking heavy race, inspired by the European ‘Spring Classics’ – but in a warmer climate.

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2021 TV Guide

Both races were shown live on Eurosport Player in the UK in 2020 and will likely in 2022 along with GCN Race Pass.

Watching outside of the UK

Don’t miss a minute of the action, even if you’re abroad. A VPN provider like ExpressVPN can protect your privacy as well as unblock geo-locked content so you can access your home broadcasters coverage even when away from home. Try risk free with a 30 day money back trial.

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race 2020 start list

Men elite


Women elite


Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race men’s elite previous winners

2015: Gianni Meersman (BEL) Etixx – Quick-Step
2016: Pete Kennaugh (GBR) Team Sky
2017: Nikias Arndt (GER) Team Sunweb
2018: Jay McCarthy (AUS) Bora-Hansgrohe
2019: Elia Viviani (ITA) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
2020: Dries Devenyns (BEL) Deceuninck – Quick-Step
2021: No race due to Covid-19

Cadel Evans Great Ocean Road Race women’s elite previous winners

2016: Amanada Spratt (AUS) Orica-AIS
2017: Annemiek van Vleuten (NED) Orica-Scott
2018: Chloe Hosking (AUS) Alé-Cippolini
2019: Arlenis Sierra (CUB) Astana Womens Team
2020: Liane Lippert (GER) Team Sunweb
2021: No race due to Covid-19

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *